a poem about prayer by C.S. Lewis

025

Master they say that when I seem
To be in speech with you,
Since you make no replies, it’s all a dream
– One talker aping two.

The are half right, but not as they
imagine; rather, I
Seek in myself the things I meant to say,
And lo! The well’s are dry.

Then, seeing me empty, you forsake
The listener’s role, and through
My dead lips breathe and into utterance wake
The thoughts I never knew.

And thus you neither need reply
Nor can; thus while we seem
Two talking, thou art One forever, and I
No dreamer, but thy dream.

C.S. Lewis

4 thoughts on “a poem about prayer by C.S. Lewis

  1. Jose

    It is God who’s the dreamer, as a theology doctor said in his talk many years ago as he inserted this poem as his concluding remark. We thought that as we pray, we become the dreamer who draw ourselves closer to God and how humbling to think THAT GOD BECOMES THE DREAMER and WE BECOME HIS DREAM.

  2. I was reading a book of C.S. Lewis’s poems and stumbled across this one, loved it, and wanted to put it in my blog. So, not wanting to type the whole thing, I Googled it. The first text of the poem I found was your blog! So thanks for doing the typing! I also like the other prayers on your blog.

Leave a comment